Hello Photo

I’ve been talking my new camera, the Nikon D2xs, out to play some recently, as well as looking for various other items to add to my photography set-up. So I tried it out at a recent event I shot some photos at, “Fashion Secrets of the South” at the Metropolitan Hotel last week. These are JPEG files, but I did shoot in RAW since I never have before and thought this would be a good opportunity to learn about processing RAW files.

A quick peek:

Stone Pendants

Stone Pendants

There were quite a few jewelry designers at the show, which featured established or up-and-coming designers from the South. It was really very interesting and some of the items were definitely worth checking out.  I hadn’t heard of anyone there as they’re based in the South so it was a lot of fun to chat with the designers. I picked up cards and various press kits as well that I want to look through.

Note card by Lancaster West

Note card by Lancaster West

Atlanta based designers Lancaster West showed some of their note cards, candles and clothing as well. I spotted Jill from the Real Housewives of New York trying some items on while I was there. She actually looked quite nice. Definitely an interesting crowd, a girl who tried on shoes by Ann Roth had just finished working on the set of the upcoming Kristen Stewart/Dakota Fanning flick, The Runaways, and a guy was there to check out pieces for a Demi Lovato show.

I was also impressed that most of the designers seemed to have a very “green” theme to their creations, with one woman I talked to who actually creates some of her jewelry line, Smartglass, out of recycles glass bottles. Granted, some of the fashion was a bit too “Southern Belle” for my taste (I live in NYC, what do you expcect?) but overall it was fun to shoot and have the chance to talk to the designers in person and get a glimpse into their creative process.

Anyway, I’m super excited for the upcoming holiday weekend. I’ll be in Ohio with the fam and a friend and I’ve planned a few photo shoots with them so we’ll see how that goes. Should be fun!

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

