Fantastic Foodies

I spent today at the International Chefs Congress presented by StarChefs.com. They have a pretty amazing group of guests this year for panel discussions, demos and workshops including Johnny Iuzzini, Emeril Lagasse, David Bouley and Pierre Gagnaire among so many others. Attendees mainly include chefs, their guests and press. I saw Jeffrey Steingarten there which was very cool because he’s such an amazing food writer.

I consider myself sort of a foodie, though I’m not sure industry peeps really appreciate the term. For my part, I really just love the NYC food scene, as well as checking out whatever is available when traveling, and I really do love to cook. The Food Network is almost always on in my apartment and as a photography, I’m also big into photographing my food adventures as well as my meals out at various restos (I definitely get some strange looks when I have to stop everyone and pull out my camera before a bite has been taken).

Anyway, there are also a number of exhibitors and sponsors at the Chefs Congress providing  food and drink samples and really helping to make the event a lot of fun. Some photo documentation from today:

Liquid Fruit Blends

Liquid Fruit Blends

Baldor Chef Prepping Samples

Baldor Chef Prepping Samples

Baldor actually had some really amazing produce, rare types of potatoes, Rambutan fruit which I had never seen before and many other interesting eats.

Figs from Baldor

I also tried some figs that they had with a 12 year aged balsamic vinegar that was pretty fantastic.

Philippine Sea Salt from XRoads

Philippine Sea Salt from XRoads

I liked this display of sea salts from XRoads. The salts come from the Philippines and are completely natural. I tried two types one almost a bit of a sweet salt and the other, a shrimp salt, which packed more immediate flavor when you I first tasted it. Anthony DiCarlo who founded the company along with his wife gave me two samples to take away so I’m excited to try them out in my cooking. As I’m not a chef, I don’t think I’ve ever given too much thought into choosing a salt to use, but it was definitely interesting to learn about what else is on the market.

Rias Baixas wine from Spain

Rias Baixas wine from Spain

Of course after all of my food tasting I had to have a little drink, so I tried some of the above wine. I prefer white which is what I tried and quite liked it. Now if I could only remember which one…but it was light and refreshing and just hinted at a fruitiness which I love in wines.

Beer Service

Beer Service

I’m not a beer drinker myself, but I got some good shots so I’m including it anyway…

Delicious cheese

Delicious cheese

Admittedly, the majority of what I tried seemed to be considerable amounts of bread and cheese. And, it was delicious, IMHO.

Coffee Labs Roasters

Coffee Labs Roasters

Coffee Labs Roasters

Coffee Labs Roasters

The Coffee Labs Roasters booth was also very unique, and a nice little pick-me-up. I’m sure I can’t explain it quite right, but they basically take a creamy, coffee mixture and insert it via a syringe-like device into some liquid, then they scooped them into dark chocolate coffee cups. It has a slightly runny, creamy – almost egg-yolk-like texture and it was amazing. Of course, I’m partial to all things coffee, but I’d recommend giving these a try if you have the opportunity.

Chef from Robot Coupe

Chef from Robot Coupe

Robot Coupe used a mechanical device to quickly dice all kinds of veggies.

Finish it off with Stella

Finish it off with Stella

Again, not a beer drinker, I was just pleased with this photo because the nice close-up and then the guy taking a swig in the background.

Apologies for the absurdly long post, I hate to self-edit and had a lot more photos that I really liked. Trying to keep my site updated and will hopefully get a link up to my Flickr account as well to keep adding new photos.

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fantastic Foodies

  1. Maithili says:

    You can get Rambutans in Chinatown!! This made my mouth water.

  2. Brandie says:

    Ohhh, I had no idea! I remember reading about them once a while back, but this was the first time I’d ever actually seen them 🙂

Leave a Reply

