R.I.P. Irving Penn

Irving Penn, a photographer I would truly consider a master at his craft, passed away today in his Manhattan home. It’s a dream to have a career such as his, filled with decades of extraordinary and iconic images. He did what he loved, and he did it well. Both the photography and the fashion industry are feeling this loss as Penn was a noted pioneer in fashion photography.

I once took a trip to D.C. just to see an exhibit of his at a museum there after I read about it (probably) in Vogue. His photographs are really quite striking and I think anyone involved in photography can certainly draw inspiration and learn from him. R.I.P. Irving Penn.

IrvingPenn01

IrvingPenn02

IrvingPenn03jpg

IrvingPenn04

IrvingPenn05

IrvingPenn06

IrvingPenn07

“A good photograph is one that communicates a fact, touches the heart and leaves the viewer a changed person for having seen it. It is, in a word, effective.” -I.P.
Promise I’ll write a real update very soon!

-B

(All images via Google search.)

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R.I.P. Irving Penn

  1. Nadia says:

    A true artist!

Leave a Reply

