So Sartorial

Ok, I promised an update 🙂 I’ve been quite busy and also unfortunately a few weeks ago was under the weather  so pardon my seeming laziness. Finally I’m feeling much better.
So, the first weekend in October I did a photo shoot with my friend A. I was going for something more toward fashion, somewhat in the appearance of street style fashion photography, but also along the lines of what you might find featured in an Anthropologie catalog. So this was my take on that look. I happen to really like the way their catalogs are photographed, and in fact their August ’09 issue featured “real” people, styled in their clothing of course, but photographed in a street style, much like The Sartorialist.
I styled the shoot using A’s own wardrobe. Three outfits were chosen but with the sun starting to set we only managed to get through two.
Anna on the UWS

A on the UWS

We shot on the Upper West Side which is a great neighborhood to photograph. Everything just has a very “charming” quality.

TV Anna

TV A

As we were heading to the park we spotted the above TV just sitting outside for somebody to take. I thought it would make for a great photo op 🙂 I just love stumbling upon random locations or items such as this TV that add an element of interest and uniqueness to an otherwise ordinary setting, i.e. near the entrance of an apartment building.

Under the Overpass

Under the Overpass

Outfit change. I did only a few shots at the above location which is under a sort of overpass that you walk through heading towards Riverside Park. While shooting I eventually decided I didn’t feel the light was working for me, and with numerous other passersby casting shadows on the walls it seemed it just wasn’t going to work. Yet, I found after going back through the photos that I actually kind of liked how some of them turned out.

I started out trying to use a large reflector, and I did have a stand, but it was windy and a bit difficult to  control by myself. Of course,  know I need to work on my lighting skills, particularly for fashion and especially for high fashion photos. But, I can’t help it, I just love natural light. I think it adds a much more “real” element to photos, and if you’re outside anyway instead of in a studio I feel one should take advantage of that.

Anyway, these are just a few of the shots, I still have to select the final images. I also have two events coming up to shoot.

My goal for this past weekend was to get in another fashion shoot on Governor’s Island, but who knew it was so difficult to find models? I must work on that as well, but this coming weekend I’m starting a fashion photography class which will hopefully help out a bit.

Later,

B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So Sartorial

  1. James says:

    These turned out great! The television one looks especially like it came out of a magazine.

    Worse than finding models, I think, is finding someone to hold the reflector.

    Also, I love the way natural light looks when photographing food (like Taco Bell!) and I even more, the way a gold reflector looks using natural light.

    -James

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks James! I’m so glad you like them 🙂 Actually, I completely agree with you, trying to deal with a reflector alone is quite a challenge.

      Yes, a gold reflector with natural light is nice, though I also like a combo silver/gold reflector. I haven’t tried one with any food photography however.

      Thanks for checking back in!

      Best,
      B

  2. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google. I have a blog on online stock trading, I’ll bookmark your site.

  3. Savannah says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

