Scarlett and Mario…and Me

Scarlett Johansson

Scarlett Johansson for Mango by Mario Sorrenti

I came across this photo today of Scarlett Johansson’s ad for Mango, shot by Mario Sorrenti via TouchPuppet. The lighting is great here, I love where there are highlights and shadows. This was likely shot quite a while ago, but I couldn’t help thinking of my own recent shoot with Vanessa that I posted about previously.

Vanessa K.

Vanessa K. (c) Brandie Raasch Photography

The lighting and overall color-tone of my and Sorrenti’s image are obviously quite different, but the similarity in background, his seeming very graffiti-esque like mine, is interesting. A lot of young photographers like myself often take inspiration from other, more well-known photographers, even very famous photographers re-work past works of their predecessors, so it’s kind of nice to know that I shot mine in this way on my own, never having seen this photo by Sorrenti. With a little PhotoShop, one could make these photos look even more similar, casting more bluish hues on mine the tone would look more alike, but it’s always interesting to see similar photos, projects, etc. but how different the outcome can turn out simply because every photographer sees things differently, prefers different lighting, etc.

You can view the rest of Mario Sorrenti’s photos of Scarlett for Mango at TouchPuppet.

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

