There’s No Place Like Home

Welcome back!

I hope everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving holiday festivities as much as I did and got a little break from work and such. My travels consisted of a visit to Kansas to see my family. There was much eating to be had and unfortunately I don’t have a photo of the delicious spiced pumpkin cheesecake with caramel-bourbon sauce that I made. BUT, I do have photos of one of my favorite places to go there, called The Plaza. It’s a great outdoor shopping area and during the holidays it’s all lit up with lights on all of the buildings. I went there in the evening on Thanksgiving Day as the lights were officially turned on:

 

Fountain @ Cheesecake Factory

Kansas City is known as the “city of fountains” and believe me, there are many.

 

Fireworks

After the lighting ceremony takes place there is a celebratory fireworks display as well.

 

Sky On Fire

 

City Lights

I heard later that a crowd of about 500,000 people attended. Though I’m not so sure that’s accurate, the streets were quite crowded.

 

Red Light District?

Just kidding. So festive.

 

 

Statue and Light

Now that I’m back in NY and the sidewalks are finally lined with pine trees for sale I need to break out my decorations, and I can listen to non-stop Christmas tunes without judgement. Haha.

By the way, all of these photos were taken without flash, and I believe at f2.8. I hadn’t really tried taking any photos late at night in such dark conditions so it was interesting to test it out and see what the outcome would be.

-B

 

 

 

 

 

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

