Let Them Eat Cake!

Oh Marie Antoinette. Not very original, I know. Forgive me. I must say, though, that I do kind of adore the Kirsten Dunst spin on the young queen’s life. How can you not love this?

Image via Google

The colors! The cakes! The absolute richness and frivolity of it all! Just divine. Just makes me want to swim in a sea of sugary, candied fabulousness.

But, I digress! I promise, I do have a point…and with my Sunday Funday I think I still have cake on the brain.

If you’re a New Yorker, you may have heard, or even read about, a delightful new bit of randomness: Chinatown Cake Club. As soon as I read about this little gem on Grub Street I immediately signed up! Billed as an “underground pastry club” I couldn’t resist…of course, my sweet tooth (have I mentioned my love of dessert?) might have had something to do with it.

The club was started fairly recently by Macao Trading Co. pastry chef Victoria Howe and meets just one Sunday a month for a very cake-filled evening. So, this past Sunday I got into the second meeting along with A, and sampled a number of delectable treats. Unfortunately I wish my photos had turned out better, but NY apartment lighting and my hastiness to get to that cake got the better of me. Nevertheless, here is a look:

Front: Pink Lady, Back: Artist Series Devil's Food

Chocolate Fontainbleau Cake

This photo turned out pretty terrible, but you get the idea. First slice I tried and it was probably one of my favs.

The Pink Lady

The Pink Lady

Strawberry Shortcake Macarons

Rooftop Skyline

We took a short break in between all of our cake eating to venture up to the rooftop to check out the view. This turned out slightly blurry, I had thought I was being very still, but I guess not.

Neighboring Silence Aglow

Night Watch

See the Trains Fly By

Baked Alaska

And back to cake! The baked alaska, although it got rather melty, was actually quite good. It had a black sesame cake inside the meringue which really added a nice contrast with the sweetness of everything else throughout the evening.

Anise Opera Cake

You can see the demise of the opera cake here. There was a really great turn out and I’m pretty sure by the end of the night there were almost no left overs.

Manhattan Bridge

Of course I had to snap a few on the way home.

Manhattan Bridge 2.0

And there you have it, kids.

In the meantime, I’m finally working on putting my first shoot of the new year together for next weekend and I’m quite excited about it as I plan to enter them into a contest. Will post more info, and of course photos, after with more details.

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

