Fashion Shoot: Mochi Magazine

I think I may have mentioned before that along with my own photography work, I’m one of the Photo Editors for Mochi Magazine, a quarterly, online publication. So, my time is often spent researching and organizing the photography for the upcoming issue and preparing the images for web publication. However, for the current issue, which you can check out online, I also got to act as photographer. Mochi held a contest and the selected winner was the lovely Alyce, who got the opportunity to have her own fashion photo shoot in NYC:

Photography: Brandie Raasch, Makeup/Hair: Liz Furlong, Model: Alyce, Stylist: Stephanie Wu (Mochi EIC)

All clothing from the shoot is available at We The People, a lower east side boutique. I had actually never been in there before but they have a well-curated collection with pieces from a small group of select designers. If you have a chance to stop by I would recommend it. I absolutely fell in love with this big, chunky, knit scarf that was there and now that it’s getting colder outside I wish I had that.

Photography: Brandie Raasch, Makeup/Hair: Liz Furlong, Model: Alyce, Stylist: Stephanie Wu

Alyce was great to work with, having fun with the clothes and actually seemed very natural in front of the camera which isn’t always easy for people. You can read all about her experience here. She was very open to the suggestions of the makeup artist and editor and asked a lot of great questions.

Photography: Brandie Raasch, Makeup/Hair: Liz Furlong, Model: Alyce, Stylist: Stephanie Wu

On this shoot I also had the pleasure of working with Liz Furlong, makeup artist and hair stylist. Liz did a fantastic job coming up with great makeup looks, and changing them to complement each outfit change during the shoot. She also styled Alyce’s hair, and here’s a tip I learned: you can actually use a hair straightener to curl hair! I definitely hope we get to work together again in the future.

Photography: Brandie Raasch, Makeup/Hair: Liz Furlong, Model: Alyce, Stylist: Stephanie Wu

I think everyone had fun working on this shoot, despite of the rainy weather.

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in fashion, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

