Time of My Life: Coming in 2011

I sat down this weekend and started making a list of goals for 2011. Things that I’d like to accomplish, etc. Of course my #1 all-important, goal that I MUST ACHIEVE: a fashion editorial published in a pretty, glossy, fashion mag. I will frame it when it happens, and it will be beautiful. Also, one goal that’s merely at the very early stages of just an idea really, is a book. I’ll come back to that at a later time when I’ve thought more about it. Another goal…wait for it…because you WILL NOT BELIEVE THIS ONE………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….Leave New York City (*gasp*) I know.

Place Colette, Paris, FR © Brandie Raasch 2010

Sad face 😦 I have to say, I often find myself (surprisingly, for me) quite torn about this. On the one hand, the thought of moving elsewhere, ideal locales right now being Paris or somewhere in Australia, is . But on the flip side, I know I would miss my family, and, although living in NYC I don’t see them all the time, it’s certainly an easier and less expensive trip than a visit from Paris or Australia would be. Even so, I think I’m pretty convinced that it’s something I need to do for myself.

 

But, I digress. One short-term goal I’ve decided on is that I’d really like to invest in some snazzy new business and promo cards. These will come in particularly handy during F/W 2011 Fashion Week coming up next month (eeeeek, excitement!). My current business cards I made over at MOO. I like the site, easy to use and the quality is pretty great. However, I think my design skills are somewhere lacking in this area. I used about 10 different photos as one side of the card:

 

Current business card front side.

 

Contact info on the other:

 

Back of current business card.

 

However, the contact side just didn’t really turn out to be what I thought I wanted and I was limited when creating the cards in regards to the typography and format. Anyhow, I’ve been doing some digging online, in search of some more creative offerings. I have a few of my own ideas of which I may make mock-ups to check out, but I’m thinking a little reader voting contest action is in order here. What say you dear readers? Would you help me pick out new business cards for 2011?

I’ll post the contest by the end of the week with perhaps 4 or 5 options that I’ve narrowed it down to and will let you be the final judges! The card with the most votes will be my new business cards. Now, if anyone out there happens to be a graphic designer, feel free to send me your designs as well to be considered for the voting round, or if anyone should stumble upon an idea they think should be considered, send it my way! I’m looking for something fun, but still professional and somehow expresses or incorporates photography/being a photographer and may or may not be geared more specifically toward the idea of fashion photography. Oh, and my favorite color is blue 🙂

So, be on the lookout for my contest post. Can’t wait!

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in design, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time of My Life: Coming in 2011

  1. Jennifer Lau says:

    I hope you reach your goal this year.

    What caught my attention was the contest you were going to have. I look forward to it. 🙂 Just half way through reading your post, jotted down five ideas. Should be worthwhile since I’m still on break. By the way, have thought of investing on die-cuts? Example of die cuts would be http://www.uprinting.com/die-cut-color-business-cards-shape-printer.html

  2. Mai says:

    But I’m trying to move BACK to NYC this year! Please please please stick around at least for some time (assuming I make it there…)! Also, we definitely need to catch up – I can’t wait to hear about your exciting plans & ideas for the year!

Leave a Reply

