For the Love of a Camera Strap

Most photographers like camera and various other photographic accessories…and not just the technical kind, but also those accessories that provide a measure of style. Sometimes I think it’s difficult to get one’s personal style across when on the job because, as a photographer, style is not always practical. I notice this the most when I shoot Fashion Week, and, among the Rodarte-heeled, Prada-bag toting attendees and glammed up models, I usually end up running around in boots, jeans or leggings, carrying my large, very un-Prada-like camera like.

A while ago, after much debate, I settled on a Billingham bag which I wrote about here. I’ve considered finding another bag eventually, one with a bit more style, but the Billingham does have style and I’ve actually gotten several compliments and even a photo of my bag taken, so, not a total loss.

© Brandie Raasch

Anyway, I digress. As I’m trying to expand and shoot more, I recently acquired a second camera body, but unlike my first D2xs, the camera strap wasn’t included (I bought a used body). So, I set out to find a camera strap for my new camera body, but of course, wanted something with style. Originally I had been interested in the Roberu straps, however after some translation assistance (it’s a Japanese company) I discovered that they don’t ship to the US. So, after some searching online I ended browsing Etsy and found the handmade leather camera straps by Lorayn.

She offers several different styles, each handmade after your order has been placed. I

© Brandie Raasch

opted for the black and white reversible leather strap because of its simple but stylish design and I like the black/white combo.

Located in Hong Kong, she does (obviously) ship to the US. It arrived in a protective plastic covering, carefully tied at the back to a piece of cardboard, keeping the strap in place.

It’s very easy to attach the strap to your camera, with tiny screws  that you place into a few holes on either end of the strap. Also somewhat adjustable in length depending on where you decide to place the screws.

© Brandie Raasch

That’s me with my new camera body, pretty little 50mm f1.4 lens and newly acquired strap. I decided I think I’ll prefer wearing the white side of the strap showing because I like the contrast with the black camera body.

© Brandie Raasch

© Brandie Raasch

I was a little concerned at first that the leather might not be all that comfortable, but decided that I could deal with that as long as it looked good. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the leather is in fact quite soft and not at all uncomfortable to carry around one’s neck. Eventually I think I’m going to need a strap for my original camera body, which currently just has the basic Nikon branded camera strap on it. Don’t get me wrong, I love Nikon, but it doesn’t hurt to add a little style, accessorize just a bit, even if I’m going to be out shooting.

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Business, design, Shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

