The Bokeh Effect

If you know some things about photography, then you have probably heard the term “bokeh” used before. Bokeh refers to the blur in out-of-focus areas of a photo. Good lenses can provide excellent bokeh and it can look really beautiful and add a really nice quality to a photo.

Image via Photojojo.com

So, my interest was piqued when I read about the Bokeh Kit via PSFK (pictured above). This nifty little kit comes with 21 discs, pre-cut with various shapes, that act sort of as bokeh filters, creating beautiful shapes from the blurred background light in a photo.

 

Image via Photojojo.com

I’m loving the butterfly effect, haha, get it? Seriously though, I think this is a really fun idea. Plus, at just $25 for the kit, you won’t have to break the bank to create something different in your photography and it’s done in camera, unlike trying to edit a similar effect in Photoshop. I’m on quite a camera/accessories kick lately!

-B

Related Posts:

[PSFK]

[Photojojo]

[Point…And Shoot]

[Put a Ring On It]

 

 

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bokeh Effect

  1. acecorbett says:

    Wow.
    That looks extremely lovely and they are only $25 sweet deal. 🙂
    I might just invest in these guys.

  2. sangriasthoughts&lemonwedges says:

    wow, i don’t think I’ve ever known about the bokeh effect. love it! I’ll probably learn about it in my fall semester at college, in my photography class is signed up for

Leave a Reply

