When the Photographer Steps In Front of the Camera

Many photographers, and really people in general, dislike having their photo taken. They feel awkward and insecure and like myself, are often very critical of their appearance in photos. Celebrities of course have to deal with being photographed constantly, and I’m sure everyone has heard stories about those who refuse to be photographed unless the photographer promises to only shoot their “good side.” People tend to have a very clear idea of how they feel they look best in a photo, or simply don’t like how they look in any photo at all.

I don’t always like having my photo taken, of course the circumstances also make a difference in how I feel about it. For instance, when I’m out with friends and we’re taking candid snapshots as friends tend to do, I’m perfectly comfortable. However, it’s very different when you’re one-on-one with a professional photographer. Anyhow, as I mentioned, I went away for a long weekend and decided to turn my camera over to my sister to take some photos of me for a change. While it was certainly more comfortable for me to pose in front of a relative, I still thought it would be interesting for me to be on the other side of the camera, to get a better idea of how the subject feels while being photographed, particularly because I shoot models for fashion and it’s important to be understanding and make them feel comfortable so that the shots turn out well.

So, here are a few of the photos from our session. I’ll post a few more when I do some additional editing:

Image by Brooke Raasch

I wanted to something sort of fashiony since that’s what I prefer to shoot. All clothes are those that I own and I did the styling myself.

Image by Brooke Raasch

I think my biggest problem in many of the photos we shot are my squinty eyes. I hav pretty sensitive eyes and the sun got quite bright during the shoot making it difficult for me to really open up my eyes. Any suggestions on how to deal with this? I haven’t had this problem with any models so far, but I imagine it could come up. I suppose depending on the style of the shoot, the easiest solution would be to have the model wear sunglasses.

Image by Brooke Raasch

Just had to get this shot because of the double C’s. Chanel! Probably not what they were thinking when they drew that, but it was the first thing that came to mind when I saw it.

What do you think? Are you comfortable having your photo taken? If not, why or if so, in any particular setting? Would love to hear everyone’s thoughts!

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to When the Photographer Steps In Front of the Camera

  1. These images are beautiful! I love them in B&W!

  2. vishalt says:

    as for being comfortable in front of the camera..i guess theres a catch. many of us are not really loose in front of the lens and besides the authority of asking people to move here and there and pose gives you satisfaction..which also discourages you from coming in front of the lens..

    but i liked you pictures very much..

    you look as pretty in front of the camera as your pictures do when u r behind the lens..

  3. Pingback: More On the Photographer in Front of the Lens | Brandie Raasch Photography

Leave a Reply

