Macallan’s Masters

There are a number of great photography books out there. Because I’m a big fan of his work, I actually own this book by Patrick Demarchelier. Doing a bit of searching, actually on self-portraits while trying to find a photographer I had recently read about, I ended up stumbling upon a project collaboration between photographers and The Macallan.

The Macallan, which is a single malt scotch…or whiskey? I’m never really certain what the difference is between the two. Anyhow, they produce the Masters of Photography, a project in which a well-known photographer captures images relating to The Macallan. The latest edition is by Albert Watson, but I have to say I’m partial to the first edition, photographed by Rankin. Some samples of Rankin’s photographs for The Macallan:

The images are just beautiful and used Polaroid just before production was stopped. This is one book of photographs I wouldn’t mind having around…even if I’m not a whiskey drinker.

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Macallan’s Masters

  1. Pingback: Rankin Live | Brandie Raasch Photography

  2. Jay says:

    The Rankin edition is way much better than the Watson edition…..i do not see what the big deal is on this watson guy..he sucks

    • Brandie says:

      I also prefer Rankin’s editon, but I think Watson has some nice shots and it’s interesting to see another photographer’s take on things I think.

Leave a Reply

