Savage Beauty

I finally went to check out the Alexander McQueen exhibit, Savage Beauty, at the Met over the weekend and ohhh was it ever worth it! The exhibit is pretty extensive with lots of McQueen to satisfy you for a while, from the clothes to the shoes to the crazy headpieces. One of my favorite headpieces was the butterfly hat and I also really loved the thorny shoulder piece worn with one of the dresses.Technically photos are not allowed at the exhibit, but I had to sneak in a few shots because I’m a rebel rule breaker like that. But, shhh, don’t tell anyone. The red dress above was made with some kind of feathers on the bottom and the top part was made with medical slides. He definitely like to work with some pretty “thinking outside the box” types of materials including various types of shells, horsehair and metals.

Anyhow, I highly recommend stopping by, but go early because the line tends to get seriously long (I’m talking 1-2 hour wait long).

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

