Props: Not Just for Films

I was supposed to do a fashion shoot this past Sunday which did not end up happening…but that’s a whole other story I won’t get into right now. Anyhow, I had planned quite a bit for this particular shoot, having a very clear idea in my head of the story and the shots that I wanted to get. Part of my planning included the use of some props to add to some shots or “scenes” of the story. I made this:

© Brandie Raasch

I’ll have to reschedule the shoot but I do still plan to shoot this story and use my sign. Anyhow, my point is that sometimes, even in photographs, props can help you tell your story. Even if you’re shooting an engagement session or an infant, while the photos will probably be great, why not branch out a little and consider adding some props into some shots to change it up a bit, make it more interesting, and help you tell a story about the people in the photo. It could be anything at all. Looking around various engagement photo sessions by other photographers I found some of a couple with Popsicles. Something so simple, and yet really added to the photos, showing the fun, silly side of their personalities. Likewise in fashion, while the story is usually told through the clothes and styling, you can enhance the story you’re trying to tell my adding little things into a scene.

Have you ever tried using props in your photos?

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

