Noël à Paris | A Holiday Recap

Before we get too far into the new year I thought I would share a few more holiday photos from Paris. Most of these were shot around the Christmas market  at Trocadéro.Merchants line either side of the fountain selling the usual: ornaments, hats, vin chaud and other goodies.Just above the fountain area you can see the blown up igloo, and next to it is the ice skating rink, or patinoire du Trocadéro.Another view of the ice rink off to the left.A shot of Palais Royal. You can walk around here and admire the shop windows, continuing toward the Jardin du Palais Royal. Once through the garden you’ll come out near rue Vivienne.A peek inside a restaurant on rue Vivienne. If you continue along this street you will eventually come to Galerie Vivienne which is lovely during the holidays, decorated with lights.A nice little space to walk through with a few places to stop for a quick bite and some shopping.Or simply admire the lights, which is what I did. I think I’ll be sad to see the holiday decorations go as they make everything seem so cheery and bright. Paris can get a bit gray during the winter and I swear it seems to rain at least once a day. I am, however, looking forward to les soldes (the sales), which start January 11th!

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Noël à Paris | A Holiday Recap

  1. I especially love the photos with the Eiffel tower. And the last one of the lights – so pretty. I agree – I am not looking forward to the lights being taken down in chilly NYC. They provide happiness on the streets and make you forget (for a few moments) how cold your fingers are 🙂 Thanks for sharing these great shots!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! Somehow I still haven’t tired of photographing the Eiffel Tower 🙂 I actually got a few other shots but didn’t include them since I didn’t feel they really reflected the holiday theme. Agree, the lights are so pretty! If it were up to me they’d keep them up all year.

      • I would love to see a post – whenever you might have the time (!) – on the Eiffel Tower from different perspectives. I didn’t realise the abundance of garden and water features around its base! I am sure your photos are fantastic. Think about it and I hope you post 🙂

  2. Dounia says:

    Love these shots. They make me nostalgic for Paris – I lived there for nearly 11 years before moving to the States about a year ago for my husband’s job. My family is still there, so I try going back as often as possible, but I still miss it like crazy all the time! Thanks for sharing your gorgeous photos.

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! Wow, 11 years, that’s fantastic! I’ve only been here since mid-September myself. I understand though, when I see photos of NYC, although it hasn’t been that long, I still miss it too!

Leave a Reply

