Friday Photo Inspiration | Let Them Eat Cake, Versailles

Recently I headed out to Versailles hoping to catch a glimpse of the Chanel Resort 2012 show, but alas it was not to be. I did see where they were setting up and heard the music (at least part of which was M.I.A.’s “Bad Girls, in case anyone wants to know).

Anyhow, the trip out to Versailles from Paris is really quite easy and not at all long so I will most definitely be going back to do some bike riding there. The vastness of the land surrounding the palace is amazing. Of course, most people associate Versailles with Marie Antoinette, and I’ve always found her life quite interesting myself. I find it fascinating when there, to think of her and so many others who once lived there and walked the same grounds I find myself walking today. I also plan to go back to do some serious photo-taking as the following don’t really do it justice, nevertheless here you are:All Photos © Brandie Raasch

You could easily spend an entire day at Versailles as there is a lot of ground to cover, especially if you plan to tour the palace as well as stroll through the gardens and visit Marie Antoinette’s hamlet, “Hameau de la Reine”. If the weather is nice, pack a picnic and spend the day walking through and lounging in the gardens, it’s lovely.

Bon week-end!

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Nature, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday Photo Inspiration | Let Them Eat Cake, Versailles

  1. I so want to go to Versailles! Love your photos – you have done a place that has been photographed many times, justice. The gardens – manicured to perfection; the first shot with the trees is lovely. Ahh, I have wanderlust!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! I need to go back to take more, unfortunately they haven’t had the fountains running yet which would make for some nice photos.

  2. Next time I go to Paris I want to go to Versailles. I have been 3 times in Paris and never went there, can you believe it? But Paris has so much to be seen that is hard to decide what to do. Well, I guess I have a reason to go back there someday.

    • Brandie says:

      It’s definitely hard to see everything, even over several visits there is just so much to do!

      • There is! But I am always looking for a new excuse to go to Paris. next time I wanna go to the moulin rouge (my birthday is 6th of october, same as moulin rouge´s “birthday”) and versailles. and eurodisney, again. 😉

      • Brandie says:

        Oh fun! I actually haven’t been to eurodisney yet so I need to check that out.

      • What are other things, not typical tourists do that you would recommend to do in Paris? so i can write it down for next time I go there. 😀

      • Brandie says:

        Hmm, if the weather is nice a picnic is always great, either by the Seine or in Parc des Buttes Chaumont. Also in Buttes Chaumont you can go to Rosa Bonheur to hang out, grab a drink and it’s nice. There are tons of museums, some of which are probably less touristy since I think most tourists probably hit up the main ones, i.e. Louvre, Orsay, etc. I recently went to the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature (hunting museum) which is interesting, even if like me, you don’t hunt 🙂 Montmartre is always a really interesting area to just walk around but is touristy near the Sacre Coeur. You could also go out to Giverny which would be a nice day trip and is where Monet spent a lot of time painting (haven’t actually been myself yet but it’s on my list!). Also just check around online before you visit and see if there are any interesting events going on, like Nuit Blanche or museum night, etc. 🙂

      • Thank you so much, that is really helpful!!!

Leave a Reply

