The Orchid Show: On Broadway at the NY Botanical Garden

This weekend I decided to make the trip up to the Bronx to visit the New York Botanical Garden. The Orchid Show is currently on display with a theme entitled, “On Broadway”. There are over 300 orchid varieties on view and the New York Botanical Garden collaborated with the theater industry insiders on design. Check it out:

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

© Brandie Raasch 2011

This was actually the first time in the seven or so years I’ve lived in NYC that I’ve ever visited the Botanical Garden. You can catch The Orchid Show through April 25th, but I’d definitely go back again even after it ends just to walk the grounds, which are really beautiful. I have some additional images up on my Facebook page, so if you’re interested check them out and maybe become a fan 🙂

-B

[NY Times]

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Nature, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to The Orchid Show: On Broadway at the NY Botanical Garden

  1. Orchids are my ABSOLUTE favorite — thank you so much for posting these gorgeous photos. I’m way jealous…

    🙂

  2. Beautiful – I was just talking with an older friend yesterday about spring coming soon. We cannot wait to dig into the dirt and plant some flowers!

    • Brandie says:

      The visit to the Botanical Garden was such a breath of fresh air! A much needed break from the cold weather we’re still getting in NYC, can’t wait for Spring weather!

  3. sangriasthoughts&lemonwedges says:

    These are beautiful! I live on long island and still haven’t been to the Botanical Garden. I also owned an orchard for almost a year but then it decided to stop growing the first time i trimmed the leaves.

    • Brandie says:

      That’s so cool! Too bad it didn’t work out but owning an orchard would be fun 🙂 Would be a great setting for a photo shoot too. I definitely recommend checking out the Botanical Garden sometime.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Beautiful images! Congrats on FP!

  5. sarahnsh says:

    The Orchids are beautiful, and the other flowers are super pretty too. I love going to Botanical Gardens, they are just so gorgeous and you come across flowers and plants you’ve never seen before.

    • Brandie says:

      I have actually been to the Conservatory in Columbus, OH and they also do an Orchid Show. Not sure if it’s annual thing there as well but most likely. It’s always nice to visit various gardens to see everything growing so vibrantly!

  6. Lakia Gordon says:

    Beautiful orchids!!

  7. may delory says:

    Nature in all its glory and even in a snippet can propel me into a state of Zen. Just loved your pictures.

  8. BEAUTIFUL! Thank you so much for sharing your pictures. These orchids are gorgeous. I’m feeling very jealous I can’t go…….

  9. The Compulsive Writer says:

    …So said the flower to the bee, “buzz off, I’m…I’m busy looking beautiful!”

    Love your photography.

  10. Katie Gou says:

    I love the photographs. I didn’t know that NYC had Botanical Gardens, I must check them out if I am ever back. The Orchids are beautiful!

  11. I love photos of flowers, great job!

  12. Busy As A Beazer says:

    Hi, thanks for posting these. I’m a volunteer at the garden, it’s one of my favorite places on earth! In person or in pictures, I can’t get enough!

  13. Modern Funk says:

    Looks like pure BLISS! Orchids are nature’s works of art!

  14. Evie Garone says:

    I love. love, love orchids! Thanks for sharing these beauties…I’m no longer in the tri-state area, otherwise I’d go to the Botanical Garden in a heartbeat.
    My mother raised orchids in Florida and they became a passion. It was really neat, she could hang them in the trees and around the pool in Florida and they’d flourish in the humidity.
    They are not as hard to raise as you’d think. When I lived in NJ I put them on my old radiators and they thrived. Now I’m in Arizona and it’s a little more challenging but I love the way they bloom about every six months, it’s like a surprise present when you see the new shoot growing, never knowing how many flowers are going to bloom.
    I also have an orchid tree in my front yard, lovely. Nice post, thanks for sharing.

    • Brandie says:

      That sounds lovely, having an orchid tree in your yard! I wish I had better luck with them in the city. My parents have some orchid plants in their home in Ohio that have done surprisingly well.

  15. njdiamonds says:

    Beautiful I love them a couple of months ago my daughter brought one home I told her that it would not live sure enough after the flowers fell off it started to die.. The strange thing was the watering instructions 3 cubes of ice once a week. They are beautiful but we have no luck with them at home..

    • Brandie says:

      Hmm, those are odd watering instructions. I love orchids but I’ve also had trouble keeping any alive in any apartment I’ve ever lived in in NYC unfortunately.

  16. AryanMolaeimehr says:

    cool, i love photos , they are very nice and beautiful , lovely
    http://aryanmolaei.wordpress.com/

  17. These are amazing shots- the colours are so striking! Each photo is like its own little piece of art… a perfect combination on nature and art. Stunning!

  18. enjoibeing says:

    super dope photos. so beautiful and lovely. congrats on freshly pressed too!

  19. astrawally says:

    Beautifully striking images. I really like the strong contrasting colours and composition, especially in the first three – they are my favourites.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

  20. santatatiana says:

    Incredibly beautiful. Thank you!

  21. architessica says:

    I have the advertisement cut out and displayed on my cork-board. I plan on getting uptown really soon to go see the show! – Can’t wait thanks for the preview.

  22. BREWPRINTS says:

    Very beautiful pictures. I love orchids. I can’t wait for the weather in NYC go above 50 so I will enjoy walking around outside.

  23. Matt says:

    Beautiful! The botanical garden near my city always has a beautiful orchid show. It’s my favorite show – Orchids are so strange and alien looking

    fellowes ps60
    fellowes ps79ci shredder

  24. ade lebelauw says:

    lovely photograph…
    I’ve been there last year but at that time I just only have my Nikon Coolpix….this year I’ll take my Nikon D-90 to New York Botanical Garden….I’m new comer in DLSR,I tought you must be more experience.
    Thanks for sharing..

  25. maru says:

    Vegetable beauty! Really nice photos.

  26. Awesome pictures 🙂

  27. I love orchids. They’re so beautiful.

  28. Stunning pictures, of beautiful flowers. Very nicely done 🙂

  29. beingzhenya says:

    I love the Botanical Gardens, the one in Brooklyn is AMAZING! Especially their rose garden in May! Can you take some pictures there please?

  30. Stuart says:

    Whoa! These are beautiful photos. Orchids are uniquely delicious and you captured them wonderfully!

    Arrrrooooo! Stuart

  31. All County Insurance - Brea, California says:

    Beautiful pictures! Thank you for sharing them with the WP community and congrats on being FP!

  32. Pingback: just another, “just another” | Living Life. Abundantly.

  33. whatsaysyou says:

    Nice shots of those lovely orchids and keep up the good work!

  34. am1641 says:

    Beautiful pictures, thanks for sharing them.

    Andre

  35. Pingback: The Orchid Show: On Broadway at the NY Botanical Garden (via Brandie Raasch Photography) « The Mark Fleming Show

  36. ancientfoods says:

    Fantastic photo’s. I just bought my first orchid about two months ago-so far so good.
    I’m glad I found your blog. I will visit again.

  37. Steph says:

    These photos are divine 🙂

  38. Wow! Reminds me of my recent pics of the Philadelphia Flower Show

  39. Italia says:

    WoWWW!!!!
    Awesome photos of my favorite orchids. The colorful and organic photos really makes my day complete. Orchids really refreshes my day. Orchids are an incredibly beautiful bloom; one that is cherished the world over. Yet, with so many different varieties of Orchids available, it becomes necessary for a gardener to master certain facts about Orchids so that they can properly cultivate the gorgeous flower. In learning the facts about Orchids both the neophyte and adept gardener can properly cultivate the flower and enjoy the bloom during its season.

  40. 真好网 says:

    Beautiful! thanks for sharing them. I like it very much.

  41. Thanks for the great blog and beautiful photos! Orchids are my favorite flower, especially the ghost orchid. Did you see any of those there? They are amazing, in my opinion. Great work! 🙂

    http://fluffyglutton.com

  42. Pingback: End of March Activities | Busy As A Beazer

  43. vishalt says:

    loved the story telling followed by a collection of vibrant pictures 😉

  44. supersitepk says:

    wow really fantastic and spectacular pictures

    Thanks for sharing

  45. richannkur says:

    Natural beauty at it’s best.

  46. So beautiful your pictures! Orchids are so gorgeous~thank you for your sharing

  47. anhldbk says:

    Nice shots with lively colors. Thanks for sharing! :X

  48. now these are some flower photos i can really look at!

  49. creo q así quedaré registrada

  50. Üdv Budapestről! 🙂

  51. Pingback: The Orchid Show: On Broadway at the NY Botanical Garden (via Brandie Raasch Photography) « Espaço de LINDALVA

  52. Pingback: Thank You Friends! | Brandie Raasch Photography

  53. Sajeevs blog says:

    Exquisite, brilliant photography! Truly a sight to behold. Singapore also has an Orchid garden in the Botanical gardens at Napier Road.

  54. Wow! Beautiful photos
    Thank you!

  55. These are really great pictures. The flowers all look beautiful and elegant.

  56. Pingback: Canada’s nature for you. In Montreal’s Botanical Gardens with a photo « Calogero Mira and Travel

  57. Absolutely breathtaking photos! I’m an amateur photographer learning how to use my DSLR and find your photos very inspiring!

    ~Tina

  58. Loved your photos – the orchids and water lilies were beautiful. But do you know the name of the pink and white flower is – it is truly beautiful and I love the perspective you took. Hope you continue to enjoy NY.

  59. Pingback: McIntire Botanical Garden and Charlottesville « Calogero Mira and Travel

  60. Much love for your blog, lover of Orchids here. Enjoyed the beautiful pics. Would like to invite you to watch our own collect , thanks and regards Heinz best wishes

  61. Pingback: Admission to The New York Botanical Garden in the Bronx. Three Options Available. | KomiDaily

  62. Nature in all its glory and even in a snippet can propel me into a state of Zen. Just loved your pictures.

  63. Pingback: Seasons at Yosemite | Brandie Raasch Photography

Leave a comment