How It Was Done: The Beauty Shoot Edition

Recently I shared with you all the beauty shoot I shot for the August 2011 issue of Reverie Magazine. I thought I’d follow up by sharing with you how it was done! I won’t go into the details of the pre-production side since I’ve already talked a bit about planning a shoot.

© Brandie Raasch

So, obviously these are not the same image but the process is the same. I actually did this shoot in my apartment since you don’t need as much space for a beauty shoot as there are typically no full body shots. I set up background stands and a plain gray backdrop,as well as a green backdrop. I shot each beauty look both against the gray and the green screen backdrop. I used a very simple lighting setup, just two stands with umbrellas and a silver reflector, usually held just below the model’s neck to keep her well lit since we wanted to show off the beauty looks and not have a lot of shadow. Of course there are many ways to light every shoot, and another option would have included the use of a beauty dish or perhaps some white v-flats on either side of the model.

Shooting against a green screen can make it much easier later on to edit out your background if, like me, you want to change the color. For some of the shots, I wanted the background color to complement the colors used in that particular beauty look. As in the above image on the right, I substituted a light red and pink background color to go with the reds in the makeup and the flowers. There are a number of ways to go about deleting your green background. I find using the Magic Wand tool in Photoshop to be pretty easy and accurate and you can use the option under the Select menu to further crop in closer to your selection. If you select your new background color first, you can then inverse your selection in the Select menu so that you have only the background selected. Hit delete, and your new background color will show up.

I’ll try to make some tutorial images or perhaps a video tutorial to show these steps in action.

If you have any questions about how to do something in Photoshop or otherwise leave a comment below!

Related Posts:

[Beauty Shoot: Reverie Magazine August 2011]

[Behind the Scenes: Planning a Photo Shoot]

-B

About Brandie

I'm a freelance photographer based in Paris.
This entry was posted in Beauty, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

